Satago vs Chaser vs Paidnice: choose Paidnice if creditworthy customers still pay late and you want a fee and interest policy per customer group; choose Chaser if a credit team needs every chasing channel; choose Satago for credit reports and invoice finance. All three sit in the Xero App Store under debtor management and publish a UK price.
Chaser sells a credit team's whole workflow, priced on turnover from £199 a month. Paidnice sells enforcement: a fee and interest policy per customer group, on the ledger, from £49 a month.
The choice turns on which failure the aged debtors report shows: customers who were never good for the money, a team that cannot keep up with the chasing, or good customers who pay everyone else first. Each tool fixes one of those failures well and covers the other two only in part.
- Choose Paidnice if creditworthy customers are reminded on time and still pay late, and you want a late fee and interest policy per customer group posted to Xero or QuickBooks Online, from £49 a month.
- Choose Satago if bad debts come from customers who should never have had terms, and you want credit reports and an invoice finance line next to the reminders, from £45 a month.
- Choose Chaser if a named credit team needs a Creditsafe file plus email, SMS, posted letters and automated calls behind one login, from £199 a month on turnover to £4m.
Macro figures for the UK market, June 2026. Roughly 68% of UK B2B sales are made on credit (Atradius, published 3 June 2026), which is why all three tools exist.
What credit control software is (and what it is not)
Credit control software automates the chasing of unpaid invoices once they are raised. It reads open invoices from the accounting ledger, sends reminders and statements on a schedule, and groups customers so each group gets its own ladder.
All three tools here do that job. Around it they add different layers: credit scores and reports, a payer portal, payment plans, escalation tasks, and late fees or statutory interest. Paidnice and Chaser run a portal and payment plans; Satago adds an invoice finance line.
What it is not:
- Not the ledger. Xero, QuickBooks Online or Sage 50 holds the invoices and payments. The tool reads them and, at Paidnice, posts fee and interest charges back as invoices.
- Not a debt collection agency. Chaser hands an account to Debitura for a success fee; Paidnice raises escalation tasks and leaves the handover to you.
- Not a credit bureau. Satago and Chaser show bureau reports, Chaser through Creditsafe. The file comes from the bureau. Paidnice runs native credit checks from each customer's payment behaviour, and Creditsafe bureau checks through the API on the Custom plan.
- Not invoice finance by default. Only Satago lends against the invoice; Paidnice and Chaser do not.
It sits between the ledger and the customer's inbox. It connects through the Xero App Store or a native integration, works from the aged debtors data, and leaves the books themselves to the accounting system.
Three different jobs: pricing the risk, running the team, enforcing the terms
Satago's core object is a credit report. Chaser's is a chasing schedule. Paidnice's is a fee policy. Everything else on each product is built around that object.
Satago pairs reminders and statements with credit scores, credit limit suggestions and a metered number of full credit reports a year, next to a single-invoice or whole-ledger finance line. It suits a business whose bad debts come from customers that should never have had terms, and whose cash gap is bridged by borrowing against the book.
Chaser, trading since 2014, holds the largest verified review base in the category. It runs email from the team's own mailbox, SMS, posted letters, automated calls, a payer portal, Creditsafe credit checks, a Debitura collections handover and cash-flow forecasting. It suits a credit controller whose problem is volume of work.
Paidnice runs the reminder and statement ladder too. Its distinguishing object is a late fee and statement interest policy attached to a customer group, raised on the Xero or QuickBooks Online ledger as a Draft or Approved invoice. It suits a business whose customers are creditworthy, well reminded, and still late because lateness costs them nothing.
Which of Satago, Chaser and Paidnice suits Xero credit control?
All three connect to Xero. Satago and Chaser also reach Sage 50; Chaser reaches the mid-market ERPs; Paidnice reaches QuickBooks Online natively and the ERPs only on its Custom plan.
“Not documented” means the vendor does not document the capability. “Not published” means the vendor does not print a price. “None found” means no evidence either way. Prices are the vendor’s published from-price. Check current pricing with the vendor.
Two rows decide most shortlists. The credit risk row separates Satago and Chaser, which both sell a bureau file, from Paidnice, which checks payment behaviour natively and adds Creditsafe on the Custom plan. The late fee row runs the other way: an optional late fee in reminder emails at Satago, one set of rules for the account at Chaser, a rule per customer group at Paidnice.
How do Satago, Chaser and Paidnice compare on features and price?
Three different meters. Satago bills a flat company price and meters reminders and credit reports. Chaser bills on turnover and meters every channel by credit. Paidnice bills on invoices raised and meters only SMS.
| Tier | Paidnice (GBP table) | Satago | Chaser |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry | Essentials £49/mo: 150 invoices, 600 emails, 2 team members | Basic £45/mo (£450/yr): 25 credit reports, 100 email reminders a month | Compact £199/mo: turnover to £4m, 4 users, 4 schedules, 100 SMS and 100 call credits, 1 inbox |
| Middle | Pro 300 £74; Pro 600 £129; Pro 1,000 £199; Pro 2,000 £349; unlimited users | Premium £80/mo: 100 credit reports, unlimited email, 100 SMS a month, payment integrations | Core £599/mo: turnover to £10m, unlimited users, templates and schedules, 600 credits, multi-entity |
| Top | Pro 4,000 £599; Custom from £749 with ERP connectors and an implementation specialist | Platinum £200/mo: unlimited credit reports, 1,000 SMS a month, dedicated account manager | Complete £899/mo: turnover above £10m, 1,200 credits, AR forecast included, account manager |
| Add-ons | Further Xero or QuickBooks Online organisation £19 each; SMS £0.05 | None published | Extra user £10; template or schedule £5; AR forecast £9; separate Cash flow plan £29; letters £1.25 to £1.50; SMS £0.05 to £0.07; credit checks £2 to £3 |
| Trial and contract | First 20 actions free, no card, no time limit; no contracts or lock-ins | 14-day free trial (not stated on the pricing page) | 10-day trial on request, 10% off annual |
Check current pricing with the vendor. Satago's Sage 50 embedded edition is separate: Standard £25 and Plus £45 a month, with Plus included on selected Sage 50 subscriptions.
All three send reminders and statements and group customers into schedules. Only Satago lends against the invoice. Only Chaser posts letters, places automated calls and hands over to collections inside the tool.
Only Paidnice raises a fee or interest charge per customer group on the ledger. Paidnice and Chaser run a portal, card payment and payment plans; none was found for Satago.
What each tool costs at £500k, £4m and £10m of turnover
Satago's price barely moves with size. Chaser's steps on turnover. Paidnice's steps on invoice count, so a business raising few large invoices stays cheap and one raising many small ones does not.
| Turnover | Paidnice | Satago | Chaser |
|---|---|---|---|
| £500k | £49 Essentials at up to 150 invoices a month | £45 Basic, if 100 email reminders a month is enough | £199 Compact |
| £4m | £74 at 300 invoices; £129 at 600; £199 at 1,000 | £80 Premium for unlimited email and SMS | £199 Compact, the top of the entry tier |
| £10m | £74 at 300 invoices; £349 at 2,000; £599 at 4,000 | £80 Premium or £200 Platinum for unlimited reports | £599 Core (£899 Complete above £10m) |
Monthly, GBP. Chaser's pricing page gives no VAT statement. Paidnice Pro tiers named by monthly invoice allowance.
The crossover is at £4m. Below it Chaser costs roughly four times either rival, and the difference buys the bureau file, letters and calls. At £4m a distributor raising 1,000 small invoices pays Paidnice about the same as Chaser; a consultancy raising 200 large ones pays a third. Above £10m Chaser steps to £599 on turnover alone.
Satago vs Chaser Xero
Both are UK vendors in the Xero App Store for over a decade, Satago since February 2014 and Chaser since May 2015, and both sell credit risk data. Chaser fits a team that needs more channels and wants the larger review base; Satago fits a business that wants a lower price and a lending line.
The pricing table above carries the tier contents. In short: light credit checking with email-only chasing suits Satago's meter, each Creditsafe check at Chaser costs one credit in the UK, and letters and calls exist only in Chaser.
The lending line is Satago's alone. A cash advance on a single invoice or the whole ledger sits inside the same product as the chasing, so the tool that flagged a slow customer can also bridge the wait.
Chaser answers the same cash gap with a forecast add-on, a collections partner, and a late fee posted as a line item, which Satago does not document.
Which failure you actually have, and which tool fixes it
Read your aged debtors report before you read a pricing page. The pattern in the 60-day-plus column tells you which of the three you are shopping for.
- Customers who were never good for the money. The overdue balance sits with a few accounts you would not have opened had you seen their file. That is a screening failure. Satago or Chaser, which both put a bureau report in front of the sale, fix it. Paidnice screens on payment behaviour, and adds Creditsafe bureau checks only on the Custom plan.
- A team that cannot keep up. Reminders go out late, statements never, and the controller's inbox is the system. That is a workflow failure. Chaser is built for it, with every channel, a portal and a collections handover; Paidnice and Satago automate the ladder with fewer channels.
- Good customers who pay everyone else first. Creditworthy accounts, reminded on time, still late every month because lateness costs them nothing. That is an enforcement failure. Paidnice posts a fee or interest charge into the customer's own payables; Chaser applies one rule to the whole account; Satago adds an optional late fee to its reminder emails.
Most ledgers show two of the three. Buy the tool that fixes the more expensive failure first; the other two tools' partial answers may cover the rest.
UK statutory interest, and what each product does with it
Every UK B2B invoice already carries a statutory entitlement to interest and a fixed sum. Paidnice and Chaser both document a Bank of England base rate calculation. Satago adds an optional late fee to reminder emails, calculated in line with statutory limits.
Under the Late Payment of Commercial Debts (Interest) Act 1998 a business can charge 8% a year above the Bank of England base rate on an overdue B2B invoice, from the day after the due date, with no notice required. A fixed sum of £40, £70 or £100 applies by size of debt. GOV.UK carries the current rate.
Chaser runs the base rate calculation as its one set of rules, recalculated daily.
Paidnice runs it as a policy under a customer group, with a toggle that applies the correct base rate for each period an invoice spans, and adds the fixed sum as a line item with its own income account. Satago adds its late fee to the reminder email and does not document posting it to the ledger.
On £12,000 overdue for 30 days at a 3.75% base rate, statutory interest at 11.75% a year is £115.89 and the fixed sum is £100.00, so £215.89 is claimable.
Interest is the overdue amount multiplied by base rate plus 8%, apportioned over the days late. The fixed sum is £40 under £1,000, £70 to £9,999.99, £100 from £10,000. The 3.75% base rate is the Bank of England rate held at the June 2026 meeting, used here as an illustration; check GOV.UK before you invoice for it.
1. Paidnice
Best for: A Xero or QuickBooks Online ledger that wants a fee and interest policy per customer group posted to the ledger, from £49 a month.
What is Paidnice best for?
For a business whose customers are creditworthy and well reminded and still late, and which wants lateness to cost them something, at a different rate for each kind of customer.
- Fits
- Businesses on Xero and QuickBooks Online of any size up to $50m a year, or 50,000 invoices a year, with or without a credit controller
- Regions
- United Kingdom, United States, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, South Africa
- Entry cost
- £49/mo on Essentials, covering 150 invoices, 600 emails and up to 2 team members, on a fixed GBP price table; Pro from £74/mo with unlimited users and no per-seat fee; Custom from £749/mo. No contracts or lock-ins.
- Rated
- 5.0 from 83 Xero App Store reviews, 100% five-star; 4.9 from 14 on Capterra; 4.7 from 29 on Trustpilot · Xero App Store listing
- Awards
- Winner, New Zealand Small Business App of the Year, Xero Global App Awards 2026; 2025 Xero Global Small Business App of the Year
- Runs on
- Xero, QuickBooks Online, Stripe, Pinch Payments, CloudDepot, HubSpot, Pipedrive, Zapier. NetSuite, Sage Intacct, MYOB and Dynamics 365 Business Central on the Custom plan only
- Statutory late fees
- Yes. Flat, percentage and compounding charges, a Bank of England base rate toggle that applies the correct base rate per period, the £40/£70/£100 fixed sum as a line item, raised on the ledger as Draft or Approved. Policies sit under customer groups, so several run at once
- Does best
- Two charge types on the same customer group, an invoice late fee and a statement interest charge, both posted to the ledger
Paidnice runs the ordinary ladder: email and SMS from your own domain, statements on any schedule, prompt payment discounts, payment plans, a portal and escalation tasks.

Its distinguishing object is the policy: an invoice late fee per overdue invoice and a statement interest charge on the whole overdue balance, both on the same customer group, so wholesale, retail and disputed groups each carry their own rate at once.
The charge is raised on the ledger as a posted invoice, which puts it into the customer’s own payables, aged payables report and next payment run.
Statement interest recalculates when the statement sends, is netted against any credit on the account, and a single disputed invoice can be excluded by reference without moving the customer. Compounding is on by default; simple interest is the deliberate choice.
Paidnice runs native credit checks from each customer's payment behaviour, and Creditsafe bureau checks through the API on the Custom plan.
Paidnice also holds a credit score from 0 to 100 against every contact, built from how they have paid you: every contact starts at 100 and loses points for paying late and for its current overdue position, banded from Excellent to High risk, plus escalations that fire on invoice age, total balance or a credit-limit breach.
Paidnice uses AI to read customer replies and draft the answer; every drafted reply needs a person’s approval before it sends. On Pro and Custom plans its MCP server connects Claude, ChatGPT or any agent with a custom connector, and one connection covers every organisation. Customers can also query an invoice or promise to pay from the portal, and policies pause while a query is open or a payment is promised. Vendor-reported outcome: customers have half as many late invoices in the first 30 days.
Limitations with Paidnice. There is no invoice finance. Posted letters are on Pro and up, on request. Calls are made by a person from inside Paidnice, recorded and transcribed.
Xero and QuickBooks Online only; no Sage 50 or Sage 200. Chaser’s 374 reviews outweigh the 83 here, and one Capterra reviewer found setup “still a bit clunky and not intuitive enough”.
Best suited for: A business on Xero or QuickBooks Online whose creditworthy customers still pay late and which wants a fee and interest policy per customer group. The drawback is that it has no Sage 50 connector, invoice finance or automated calls.
2. Satago
Best for: A UK business that wants to price the credit risk before the sale and borrow against the invoice afterwards, from £45 a month.
What is Satago best for?
For an owner or finance manager whose bad debts come from accounts that should never have had terms, and who wants credit checks, reminders and an invoice finance line in one place.
- Fits
- UK small businesses on Xero, Sage or Sage 50, including Sage 50 subscribers who get the embedded edition at £25 or bundled free; no turnover tiers published
- Regions
- United Kingdom only
- Entry cost
- £45/mo on Basic (£450/yr) with 25 credit reports and 100 email reminders a month; Premium £80/mo; Platinum £200/mo. Sage 50 embedded Standard £25/mo, Plus £45/mo. A 14-day free trial is offered, though the pricing page does not state it.
- Rated
- 4.93 from 92 Xero App Store reviews, 96% five-star, listed since February 2014 · Xero App Store listing
- Awards
- None found
- Runs on
- Xero, Sage, Sage 50, Intuit QuickBooks, KashFlow, FreeAgent
- Statutory late fees
- Optional. Satago adds an optional late fee to reminder emails, calculated in line with statutory limits, and does not document posting it to the ledger
- Does best
- Credit risk insight and invoice finance inside the same product as the chasing
Satago is a hybrid: automated credit control software on one side and an invoice finance lender on the other, sold together.

The software runs payment reminders, statements, thank-you emails, customer grouping and scheduling, plus a risk layer of credit scores, suggested credit limits, real-time notifications and bad debt protection access. Full credit reports are metered by tier: 25 a year on Basic, 100 on Premium, unlimited on Platinum.
The finance side is a cash advance on a single invoice or several, which no other tool on this page offers.
For a business whose problem is the wait rather than the debtor, that line may matter more than any chasing feature. Premium adds unlimited email, 100 SMS a month and payment integrations; Platinum adds 1,000 SMS and a dedicated account manager.
The Sage 50 embedded edition is the quiet bargain: Standard at £25 a month carries unlimited users and unlimited chasing with three full credit reports a year, Plus at £45 lifts that to 25 reports and connects your own inbox, and selected Sage 50 subscriptions include Plus at no charge.
Which subscriptions qualify is not published; Sage routes the question to an account manager.
Limitations with Satago. Its late fee is added to reminder emails and is not documented as a charge posted to the ledger. No payment plans or payer portal were found.
Basic caps email reminders at 100 a month and has no SMS. The footprint is UK only. No review evidence outside the Xero App Store was recorded, and no awards were found.
Best suited for: A UK business on Xero, Sage or Sage 50 that wants credit reports and an invoice finance line next to its reminders. The drawback is that its late fee sits in reminder emails rather than on the ledger, and it has no payment plans and no payer portal.
3. Chaser
Best for: An established UK credit team that wants a bureau file and every chasing channel behind one login, entry tier priced to £4m of turnover.
What is Chaser best for?
For a business with a named credit controller who needs email, SMS, posted letters, calls, a portal, credit checks and a collections handover metered on one bill.
- Fits
- Businesses with a credit team; the entry tier is priced for £4m turnover and under, and the tiers run to £100m
- Regions
- UK-registered, trading since 2014, sells worldwide; automated calls not available in New Zealand
- Entry cost
- £199/mo on Compact for turnover to £4m with 4 users; Core £599/mo to £10m; Complete £899/mo above that; Chaser Care managed service from £899/mo, bundled with the software. A 10-day free trial is available on request: Chaser provisions it after a signup form, with no card details required.
- Rated
- 4.98 from 374 Xero App Store reviews; 4.5 from 68 on G2; 4.9 from 45 on Capterra · Xero App Store listing
- Awards
- Xero App Partner of the Year 2023
- Runs on
- Xero, QuickBooks, Sage 50, Sage 200, Sage Intacct, Sage Business Central, NetSuite, Dynamics 365, AccountsIQ, SAP, HubSpot, Gmail, Outlook, CSV
- Statutory late fees
- Yes. Four calculation types including a Bank of England base rate type, recalculated daily, but one set of rules for the account, applied to every debtor or to selected debtors; no fee on payment-plan or partially paid invoices; line-item sync to Xero only
- Does best
- Creditsafe credit checking and monitoring in the same tool as email, SMS, letter and automated-call chasing
Chaser is the established, larger-business tool of the three. Reminders leave from the team’s own Gmail or Outlook mailbox, so replies land where the controller already works.

SMS, posted letters, one-way automated calls, a payer portal, Chaser Pay and a handover to Debitura for collections sit behind the same login. Every channel is metered by credit, so a difficult month costs more than a quiet one.
The Creditsafe report gives a credit score with a recommended limit, the customer’s own payment score, credit event history and Companies House filing and director data, with continuous monitoring and a Late Payment Predictor on top.
Checks cost one credit in the UK and Ireland and four elsewhere. This is the deepest credit file on the page, and the one bought by teams who would rather screen than argue.
Chaser Care runs the chasing as a managed service from £899 a month, in bundles at £899, £1,599 and £2,099 that carry software and call hours together, and there is a white-label build for accounting firms. AR forecasting is a £9 a month add-on and cash-flow forecasting is a separate £29 a month plan.
Limitations with Chaser. The late fee is one set of rules for the account, so trade and retail customers it covers get the same rate, and no fee is raised on a part-paid invoice or one on a plan.
Statements go monthly only, on a fixed day. Compact caps the team at four users and four schedules. The tiers step on turnover, so growth alone moves the bill.
Best suited for: An established UK credit team that wants a Creditsafe file and email, SMS, letters and calls behind one login. The drawback is one set of late fee rules for the account and tiers that step on turnover, from £199 a month.
Which credit control software fits your use case?
Start from the pattern in your aged debtors report, then the ledger you run. Each row names the tool on this page that fits that case and why.
| Use case | Start with | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Bad debts from customers who should never have had terms | Satago or Chaser | Both put a bureau credit report in front of the sale; Paidnice runs native checks from payment behaviour, plus Creditsafe via API on the Custom plan |
| A credit team that cannot keep up with the chasing | Chaser | Email from your own mailbox, SMS, letters, automated calls, a portal and a Debitura handover |
| Creditworthy customers who are reminded on time and still pay late | Paidnice | A late fee and statement interest policy per customer group, posted to Xero or QuickBooks Online |
| Reminders and statements only, at the lowest entry price | Paidnice or Satago | Paidnice from £49 for 150 invoices a month; Satago from £45 with 100 email reminders a month |
| A cash gap you want to bridge by borrowing | Satago | The only one of the three that lends against a single invoice or the whole ledger |
| A ledger on Sage 50 or Sage 200 | Chaser, or Satago on Sage 50 | Paidnice connects to Xero and QuickBooks Online only |
What buyers ask when they have shortlisted exactly these three
The questions a UK finance manager has to answer in writing before one of the three goes on the budget.
Can I run Paidnice and Satago together?
Nothing in either vendor’s public materials prevents it, and the jobs do not overlap: Satago screens and lends, Paidnice charges. Both send reminders, so one set would need switching off. No vendor documents the pairing, so treat it as untested.
Which of the three charges UK statutory interest?
Chaser, as one set of rules with a Bank of England base rate type, and Paidnice, as a per-group policy with a base rate toggle and the fixed sum as a line item. Satago adds an optional late fee to reminder emails and does not document posting it to the ledger.
Which is cheapest at £4m turnover?
It depends on invoice volume. Paidnice costs £74 at 300 invoices a month and £199 at 1,000, Satago costs £80 on Premium for unlimited email and SMS, and Chaser costs £199 on Compact, the top of its entry tier.
Which one reaches Sage 50?
Satago, with an embedded edition from £25 a month, and Chaser. Paidnice does not connect to Sage 50 or Sage 200.
Do any of the three replace a credit controller?
No. Chaser Care sells managed chasing from £899 a month, software included, as the nearest thing. Paidnice uses AI to read replies and draft the answer; a person approves each draft before it sends, unless that type of action was pre-approved. Satago sells credit-control-as-a-service through partners, terms not published.
How much does each of the three cost per month?
Satago starts at £45 a month on Basic, Paidnice at £49 on Essentials and Chaser at £199 on Compact. Satago bills a flat company price, Chaser bills on turnover and Paidnice bills on invoices per month.
Which of the three offers payment plans and a payer portal?
Paidnice and Chaser both run a portal, card payment and payment plans. None was found for Satago.
How are the three rated on the Xero App Store?
Paidnice holds 5.0 from 83 reviews, Chaser 4.98 from 374 and Satago 4.93 from 92. Chaser has the largest review base of the three.
Related comparisons for a UK credit team
Versus
Chaser vs Paidnice
The two-way comparison on fee grain, part-paid invoices and the growth penalty.
Alternatives
Best Chaser alternatives
Six Chaser alternatives on enforcement, price and verified reviews.
Credit control
Best credit control software UK
Six tools compared on statutory interest grain and published price.
Buyer's guide
Credit control software for Xero
Where it fits, what it costs, and how to choose for a Xero account.
Sources
11 sources, checked by Julie Turnbridge on October 26, 2026
- Atradius UK 2026 group.atradius.com/knowledge-and-research/reports/b2b-pay...
- Late Payment of Commercial Debts (Interest) Act 1998 legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/1998/20/contents
- Bank of England base rate bankofengland.co.uk/monetary-policy/the-interest-rate-ban...
- GOV.UK gov.uk/late-commercial-payments-interest-debt-recovery/ch...
- Xero App Store apps.xero.com/uk/app/paidnice
- Capterra capterra.com/p/254868/Paidnice
- Trustpilot trustpilot.com/review/paidnice.com
- Capterra capterra.com/p/157101/CHASER/reviews
- Xero App Store listing apps.xero.com/uk/app/satago
- Xero App Store apps.xero.com/uk/app/chaser
- G2 g2.com/products/chaser/reviews