Credit Control · Buyer's Guide

Credit control software free trials: what eight tools offer before you pay

Trial length, card rules and the features each vendor holds back, taken from the vendors' own pages and app store listings.

Credit control software free trials run from none to 30 days. Paidnice has no clock: the first 20 actions are free, with no card. Chaser gives 10 days, CreditorWatch Collect and Upflow 14 days, and Credit Hound 30 days on its Sage listing. ezyCollect offers a trial with no card, while Kolleno and Satago state no standard trial.

You have a ledger full of overdue invoices and a week to decide whether a tool can chase them. The trial is where you find out, so its length and its limits matter as much as the price. Here is what each vendor offers before you pay, taken from its own pages and app store listings.

Which credit control tools offer a free trial, and on what terms?

Credit control software trial terms differ on four points: the length, whether a card is needed, which features the trial leaves out, and where the vendor states the offer.

ToolFree trial or free planCard neededLeft out of the trialWhere the vendor states itPrice from (monthly)
1. PaidniceNo timed trial; the first 20 actions are free, with no time limitNoNone statedPricing page and sign-up page£49 (US$69)
2. Chaser10 daysNoSMS, calls, letters, UK credit checks, Direct Debit, domain verificationXero App Store listing, sign-up page and help centre£199
3. CreditorWatch Collect14 daysNot statedNot statedPricing pageQuote
4. Credit Hound30 days on its Sage listing; Draycir's site offers a demoNot statedNot statedSage UK Marketplace listingUS$25 to US$454 for the first user
5. ezyCollectFree trial when you connect your ledger; length not stated on the pageNoNot statedXero integration pageA$275 for ezyStart (last published; current prices hidden)
6. KollenoNo trial terms stated; demo onlyNot applicableNot applicablePricing page offers a tour and a demo$650 per user
7. SatagoNo trial on its pricing page; a 2-week trial on one Visa promotion pageNot statedNot statedVisa promotion page£45
8. Upflow14 days on its Xero listing; a free Discover plan for AR visibilityNo (Xero listing)Not statedXero App Store listing and pricing pageQuote

"Not stated" means the vendor's pages do not say. Prices are each vendor's published from-price, in the vendor's currency.

Which credit control software has a free trial?

Credit control software with a free trial falls into four groups: a free allowance with no clock, a fixed-length trial, a trial stated only on an app store listing, and a demo with no trial.

  • No clock: Paidnice. Signing up is free and the first 20 actions are free, so the free period ends on use rather than on a date.
  • Fixed length on the vendor's own site: Chaser (10 days) and CreditorWatch Collect (14 days). ezyCollect offers a trial with no card and states no length on its Xero page.
  • Stated only on an app store listing: Upflow's 14-day trial is on its Xero listing, and Credit Hound's 30-day trial is on its Sage listing. Neither vendor's own pricing page repeats it.
  • Demo, no trial: Kolleno. Satago's pricing page shows no trial; the only offer is on a Visa promotion page.

How this comparison was put together

This comparison covers the six tools on the credit control software shortlist, plus Upflow and Credit Hound, which buyers often trial beside them.

What we checkedWhere the evidence came from
Trial length or free allowanceThe vendor's pricing and sign-up pages, then its Xero App Store or Sage Marketplace listing
Card rulesThe same pages; a rule counts only where the vendor states it
Features left out of the trialThe vendor's help centre
Price after the trialThe vendor's pricing page, or the last published price where it is now hidden

A trial stated only by a review site or a reseller is left out. Where a vendor's pages disagree, the table names the page that states the offer.

Does Chaser have a free trial?

Chaser has a 10-day free trial with no card details, stated on its Xero App Store listing and its sign-up page. You can connect your own ledger or test in a demo environment.

The trial includes unlimited reminders, schedules, templates and users, plus the payment portal. Chaser's help centre lists what the trial leaves out: SMS chases, call reminders, letters, UK credit checks, Direct Debit through Stripe, collections services and domain verification. After the trial, Chaser starts at £199 a month for turnover under £4m.

Which Xero credit control apps offer a free trial with no credit card?

Xero credit control apps with a free trial and no card are Paidnice, Chaser, ezyCollect and Upflow, each on its own stated terms. CreditorWatch Collect offers 14 days but does not say whether a card is needed.

  • Paidnice: first 20 actions free, no time limit, no card.
  • Chaser: 10 days, no card, on the UK Xero listing.
  • ezyCollect: a trial when you connect Xero, no card.
  • Upflow: 14 days, no card, on the UK Xero listing.

For Australian businesses, the debtor management apps for Xero in Australia compares the same choice with local prices.

Which credit control tools for QuickBooks Online have a free trial?

Credit control tools for QuickBooks Online with a stated free start are Paidnice, with its first 20 actions free, Chaser, with 10 days, and CreditorWatch Collect, with 14 days.

Upflow connects to QuickBooks Online too, but states its 14-day trial only on its Xero listing. Kolleno connects and works through a demo. The accounts receivable software for QuickBooks Online shortlist compares these tools on price and features.

Is a 10- or 14-day trial long enough to test credit control software?

A 10- or 14-day trial is long enough to test setup and the first reminders, but too short to watch a full chase cycle on new invoices with 30-day terms.

On 30-day terms, a new invoice is not even due inside a 14-day trial. To see escalation, late fees and statements run, point the trial at invoices that are already overdue in your ledger. Keep sending in draft or test mode, so a customer never receives a message you have not approved.

What should you test during a credit control software free trial?

A credit control software free trial should prove six things on your own data: the ledger sync, approval before sending, reply handling, exclusions, charges, and the cost at your volume.

TestA good result
Ledger syncA payment, a credit note and a part payment in your ledger show up in the tool, and chasing stops on a paid invoice
Approval before sendingNothing reaches a customer until you approve it; you can send a test to yourself first
Reply handlingA reply such as "paid yesterday" pauses the chase and lands where your team sees it
ExclusionsDisputed invoices, customers on a payment plan and key accounts can be paused
Late fees and interestAny charge posts to the ledger as a draft you can check, at the rate your terms allow
Features left out of the trialThe vendor shows SMS, letters or credit checks in a demo if the trial does not include them
Cost at your volumeYou can price your invoice count, users and turnover band from the pricing page before you subscribe

What happens when a credit control software trial ends?

What happens when a credit control software trial ends is stated by Chaser only: subscribing early ends the trial and starts the subscription at once, and an email reminds you as the trial ends.

The other vendors on this page do not say whether a trial pauses, converts or keeps your data. Ask before you connect your ledger, and disconnect any tool you do not keep, so two tools never chase the same invoice.

What do buyers ask before starting a credit control software trial?

Which credit control software has the longest free trial?

Credit Hound has the longest stated trial, 30 days, but only on its Sage UK Marketplace listing; Draycir's own site offers a demo. Paidnice has no time limit at all, because its free start is the first 20 actions rather than a set number of days.

Do I need a credit card to try credit control software?

Paidnice, Chaser, ezyCollect and Upflow say no card is needed for their free start. CreditorWatch Collect, Credit Hound and Satago do not say either way, so check at sign-up. Kolleno works through a demo, so no card question arises.

Does Kolleno have a free trial?

Kolleno states no trial terms on its pricing page, homepage or Xero listing. Its pricing page offers a product tour and a demo, and its plans start at $650 per user a month on BusinessPay.

Does Satago have a free trial?

Satago's pricing, home and credit control pages show no free trial. The only offer we found is a 2-week trial on a Visa promotion page. Satago's plans start at £45 a month on Basic.

Is there free credit control software?

Upflow's Discover plan is free with no end date and gives AR visibility, but it does not send reminders. Paidnice's first 20 actions are free with no time limit. For ongoing automated chasing, every tool on this page charges a subscription after the free start.

Can I test credit control software without affecting my customers?

Yes, if you keep sending in draft or test mode and send the first reminders to yourself. Chaser also offers a demo environment with sample data. Check that chasing stops on paid invoices before you switch sending on.

Which credit control software should I trial first?

Start with the tool that fits your ledger and the job you need covered, then trial it on real overdue invoices. The best credit control software guide compares the six main tools on price, ledger, late fees and limits.

Sources

12 sources
  1. Pricing page paidnice.com/pricing
  2. sign-up page paidnice.com/sign-up
  3. Xero App Store listing apps.xero.com/uk/app/chaser
  4. sign-up page chaserhq.com/signup
  5. help centre help.chaserhq.com/trial-access
  6. Pricing page creditorwatchcollect.com.au/pricing
  7. Sage UK Marketplace listing uk-marketplace.sage.com/en-GB/apps/60334/credit-hound/fea...
  8. Xero integration page lp.ezycollect.io/xero-integration
  9. Pricing page kolleno.com/pricing
  10. Visa promotion page satago.com/visa30
  11. Xero App Store listing apps.xero.com/uk/app/upflow
  12. pricing page upflow.io/pricing

Harry P. Smart

CPA and Lead Reviewer
Expert author

Harry P. Smart is a CPA based between London and New York City. Harry writes and leads the review of the software guides on Accounting.Events.

On this pageWrote and updated this guide.
Website · LinkedIn · XHow we write and check guides